Rinko Kawauchi – Approaching Whiteness

by fashionartbooks

Last year I highlighted an event organised by Goliga to coincide with Rinko Kawauchi’s nomination for the Deutsche Borse prize and the accompanying exhibition at The Photographers Gallery in London. The event, Approaching Whiteness, allowed the visitor to select one of nine different scrolls that contained a series of images created by Rinko. The scroll was then screen printed with a design and colour of your choice and the title written on it in Japanese calligraphy. Finally, Rinko stamped the scroll and placed it in a custom made box. The event was hugely successful and it was hard to pick a scroll and design for the silkscreen, a lot of visitors were comparing choices before making their final decision! Videos for all the scrolls can be seen here, I chose Goldfish and Diamond Dust.

Rinko Kawauchi Scrolls Rinko Kawauchi Scrolls Rinko Kawauchi Scrolls Silkscreen

I chose a pearlescent colour for my pine needle pattern

I chose a pearlescent colour for my pine needle pattern

Rinko Kawauchi Scrolls Rinko Kawauchi Scrolls

